Youth of the Year

What Does It Take to be Youth of the Year…

Youth of the Year has become America’s premier leadership and recognition program for teen Club Members. This nationally recognized program has a real impact on developing great futures for young people. Through an application and interview process, “Youth of the Year” candidates are selected by a local panel of esteemed judges based on leadership qualities, service to the community, academic achievement, letters of recommendation, obstacles overcome, written essays, poise, and public speaking.

Some of the Benefits and Honors…

Each of our six Clubhouses select Boy and Girl Youth of the Year Winners annually and we award scholarships to assist them in their academic pursuits. One candidate each year is identified by a panel of judges to represent the Boys & Girls Clubs of Tucson in the State of Arizona Competition in Phoenix every April. Our 2017 “Mark Irvin City of Tucson” Youth of the Year is Karla Figueroa Leon.

2018 “Mark Irvin City of Tucson” Youth of the Year

Jackson Bahati
Steve Daru Clubhouse

Congratulations Jackson! Jackson is the 2018 “Mark Irvin City of Tucson” Youth of the Year winner from the Steve Daru Clubhouse.

An active member at the Steve Daru Clubhouse in Tucson, AZ for the past two years, Jackson is the 2018 Mark Irvin City of Tucson Youth of the Year Award winner. He plans to attend the University of Arizona after graduation from Tucson High Magnet School in May 2018. He aspires to become an aerospace engineer and one day an astronaut. He helps others daily trying to make the world a better place, all while helping provide for his family of 5 here in the states. Originally from Rwanda, Jackson has adapted to American life and learned English is 3 short years. He has become an important part of the Steve Daru Clubhouse through being a Rookie Basketball Coach, Vice President of the Keystone club, as well as just a very positive role model for his peers and fellow Club members. He truly appreciates his awesome role model and mentor, our very own Marsharne Flannigan who is the Clubhouse’s Program Director and an Alumni of Steve Daru.

Past Winners (YOTY Alumni)

2017   Karla Figueroa Leon
2016   Paola Bustamante
2015   Goel Ellis
2014   David Johnson
2013   Goel Ellis
2012   Anthony Wimberly
2011   Arreana Robles
2010   Juliet Yardy
2009   Mark (TJ) Quijada
2008   Tessa Kozlowski
2007   Samantha Bossert
2006   Tessa Kozlowski
2005   Kevin Bennett
2004   Ramon Moran
2003   George Yslava
2002   Kristina Ruiz
2001   Leticia Moran
2000   Ramon Ahumada
1999   Ramon Ahumada
1998   Joseph “Nique” Guerrero
1997   Jaime Guerro
1996   Yvonne Rodriguez
1995   Vila Sisamout
1994   Vila Sisamout
1993   Maria Arevalo
1992   Julie Merten-Voskuil
1991   Maria Arevalo
1990   George Schmid
1989   Kurtisha Flannigan
1988   Keisha Flannigan
1987   Chieva Bush
1986   Jose Leon
1985   Albert Madril